Family Ride, Buffy, Lacie, MaggieI am thankful to have a family who likes to spend time outdoors.  Although not the entire family likes to mountain bike, there are times when we all ride the trails together.  With that said, two of my children have a strong potential to build their skills over the years and be life-long off-road riders.

FischerMaggie and LacieI was very excited the day that my 5 year old kicked off his training wheels and it was only a few days later when I introduced him to singletrack.  My strategy is to make sure he sees the dirt as typical and hardtop as a-typical.

Thanks to some smart and strategic trail building in the Wilmington area, many of our trails have ride-arounds on most of the advanced skills areas.  These bypasses make trail riding very negotiable with newby or young riders.

My goal for 2013 is to increase the frequency of riding with my family with hopes that we will cater a few family vacations around mountain biking.

