Since 2009, it has been my joy to be an official member of the International Mountain Bicycling Association (IMBA) through my local mountain biking club- Cape Fear SORBA.  Of course, I love the free socks, IMBA stickers, and other rewards, but it is very rewarding to realize that you are part of a bigger bike movement that currently stands more than 35,000 strong around the world.  This doesn’t include the thousands of supporting businesses and organizations that share my passion in riding.

IMBAfamilymembershipThis year, I decided to step it up and upgrade my INDIVIDUAL membership to a FAMILY membership.   Although I am the most passionate biker in the family, it makes a statement that we all enjoy God’s creation through biking and outdoor recreation.  My goal one day is to upgrade this membership to an active National Mountain Bike Patrol by training to be a Cape Fear MTB Patrol.  Bike Patrol is much more of a financial commitment but I believe it is a great way to promote responsible mountain biking through IMBA’s philosophy of environmentally sound and socially responsible riding, embodied in the universally recognized IMBA Rules of the Trail.

If you are not an official IMBA members, I encourage you to read this article, “25 Things IMBA Did for You in 2012” and join IMBA/SORBA through your local affiliated bike club.  If there is no local IMBA/SORBA in your area, then, I invite you to select Cape Fear SORBA as a portion of your yearly membership is funneled to our club.

