After only a little over a year of riding a mountain bike, I was itching to ride in my local race series.  I was very nervous as I had not competed in any sport since I was a kid.

I was very excited to see that my local mtb race had added a new category for racers called “First Timers.”  This division offered no prizes, but instead you still got the podium pounce, as well as, a mandatory upgrade to Beginners Class for first place winners.  I was excited to podium in both local races in the First Timers class and it was a gateway drug for me to move on to Beginners + the next year.

I am very thankful for mountain bike race series like the Coastal Carolina Off Road Series because they are sensitive to my fear and trepidation in trying out competitive riding.

ccorsAs my third CCORS race season approaches, here are several reasons why I enjoy racing.

1) My family gets to come and cheer for me.  They get see that I am not just a couch potato watching Chopped, Duck Dynasty, and X-Factor all day.

2) In a race series that appeals to over 500 racers, I get to meet a lot of people that have a passion for the dirt and just love to spin with other riders.

3) Upcoming races give my mind and heart something to focus on, set goals, and succeed or fail.  As I turn 40 this year, I am aware that racing mountain bikes might be a short lived experience for me, so if I can succeed in the few short years I have, it should prove to be a highlight for sure.

4) Racing or volunteering at races, shows my support for my local bike club and race sponsors.  I am honored to be part of a VERY active IMBA related bike club called Cape Fear SORBA, who has been given the lead role in organizing the race series.  My participation in any way, is one way I show my investment in my club which in turn is an investment in the trails.

If you have been hesitant to step out and sign up for your first race, I suggest you take the crank of faith and find a local race to participate.

Keep me posted if you do!

2013 Coastal Carolina Off Road Series

