photo(5) If you are not opposed to exercising with your phone, I highly suggest you use a biking app when riding.  In the myriad of biking apps (657 when I use my iPhone app search), it can be very challenging to decide which one (or ones) to actually use.  Allow me to make suggestions on a biking app and even a few hints you might help.

Which App?

Two years ago, when I first purchased my iPhone, there were only a handful of biking exercise apps.  Today, you can spend hours upon hours sifting through a large storehouse of options in your app store.

First, when considering a biking app, you will need to decide if you are using your phone as a full-time dashboard during your biking exercise or if you just want to just hit a button, tuck away your phone, and crank.  Depending on the intensity and purpose of monitoring your ride will determine how complex of an app you will need to consider.photo(6)

Second, you need to realize that not all biking apps will pair with your data capturing sensors such as heart rate and cadence/speed.  If this data is important for your exercise mapping, make sure to choose an app that pairs AND displays this data while exercising.

Third, decide whether you want to JUST use your phone display for exercise reports or whether you want to eventually view your workout data on a larger screened computer.  There are several excellent apps which work well for phone display but do not have a web-based interface to view on your home computer.

photo(7)App Hints

Many people do not know but you can run MORE THAN ONE biking app while riding!  This means load up several as your exploring your bike app options.  BUT BEWARE, you can only pair one app to your sensors and it seems as if some apps will actually pull rank on sensor connection.

I have found that if I force shut down all my exercise apps before pairing my devices it allows me to get a more precise connection to the app I want to use for that exercise situation.

Advanced Hintsphoto(9)

If you are really into analyzing your data, you might want to opt for a biking app that allows you to download/upload a GPX file of your workout.  This is the raw data that your app collects and can be transferred to another application for examining.

In addition, many biking apps will email your results and even post your ride details on Facebook, Twitter, or their own social media platforms.

What Biking App Do I Use?

photo(8)

My top biking apps are Endomondo, Wahoo Fitness, Cyclemeter, Strava, and Charity Miles.

Personally, I use Wahoo Fitness while I bike and then I upload the data to Strava and Cyclemeter after finishing the ride.

Whichever biking app you utilize be assured to periodically check for app updates as most developers are always seeking to distinguish themselves in the plethora of apps with new and exciting layouts and features.

