IMG_8066 (1024x452)

I had a great time riding/racing in the Coastal Carolina Off Road Series (CCORS) Race #1 @ Bicycle Post Trails in Greenville, NC.  Allow me to share some thoughts from the first race in this 6-race series.

1) GREAT volunteers and organization by ECVelo Bike Club!  For having a RECORD number of racers, things went off with very little speed bumps!  I have really enjoyed working with Ryan Danell of ECVelo in making sure this year’s race series is the best yet!

2) Bicycle Post Trail is a very TECHNICAL  and challenging course.  The course route was backwards (CCW), but is littered with lots of rooty switchbacks, back to back gully rides, and steep inclines.  There were fun bridges, fast drops, and fresh cut trail.IMG_8065 (1024x683)

3) Lots of PRIZES were earned for fast riding. Almost $1,000 worth of cash and awards were handed out to the winners.

How Did The Trail Mayor Perform?

Well, this could certainly be classified as more of a ride than a race when looking at my performance.  Being my first time ever on this trail, I wanted to be very cautious as I arrived to the course only 20 minute before start.

My first lap was 38:13 and that includes a couple of tangles since I was in NO rush to take the lead onto a trail I have never pre-ridden!  I was pretty confident that I was going to do much better in the second lap, but a steep gully incline got the best of me as I lost my balance at the crest…studder-stepped all the way back down the hill with one foot still clipped in…then threw a chain which required flipping the bike and pulling out the tools.

IMG_7910 (1024x683)The greatest joy in riding a 42:22 second lap was seeing many of my good riding buddies riding much faster than myself and especially having a good friend of mine, Ben Brown, pass me towards the end of the lap while he was clearing rocking 1st place in Expert.

Ultimately, I finished 10th out of 16 in the Beginner + category.

