Wilkes 100K

I am super stoked about this Saturday’s Wilkes 100K Mountain Bike Race at Kerr Scott Dam & Reservoir in Wilkesboro, NC.  I have never been so excited about a race that I am not able to attend (notice I said attend not race..not at that level…yet!), but I am thinking this race could become one of the most desired races in North Carolina.

Not only will the course include Warrior Creek, but also Dark Mountain, Over Victory Trail (OVT), and Shiner’s Run.  Here is a good Strava report that gives an idea of the trail profile from the former semi-endurance race, “Escape from Dark Mountain.”

In addition, I am very excited to announce that my local bike club, Cape Fear SORBA, is sending more than a dozen racers to the Wilkes 100K and many of these are super fast and experienced riders.  I cannot wait to see how our coastal flatlanders do this Saturday!

These trails are built and maintained by the Brushy Mountain Cyclists Club and all proceeds from the race will directly benefit continued trail development.  Big kudos to BMCC for building and maintaining this IMBA Epic trail system!

Registration is still open for a few more hours by heading fast over to Bike Reg.

Oh yeah, I cannot forget my good friend, Marshall Brown, president of Waccamaw Trail Blazers, who will be racing the Wilkes 100K!

Wishing good cranks to everyone.  You can keep up at the Wilkes 100K twitter feed.

